Double Dummy Corner


1st exchange for Exchange & Win No. 17

♠ A2



♣ J762

♠ J10873



♣ 954

♠ K



♣ Q3

♠ Q9654



♣ AK108

South is declarer in five no-trumps.  What is the winning exchange?

What sequence of counter-exchanges follows?

The first winning exchange is to swap West's ♠9 for South's ♠10.  The cost is (10-9)x2=2.  The difference is doubled under Rule 2.  South no longer has a tenace over West's ♠J, so the endplay described before fails.

North-South is now the losing side and we must find a counter-exchange that makes them the winning side again.  The counter-exchange must be cheaper than the first exchange, so it must either cost less than 2 (i.e., 1) or must involve lower cards or a lower suit than spades, under Rules 6 and 7.  If you want a hint, look at Problem #129 in the archive.  This is the problem that inspired Carlalberto Magri to compose this E&W problem.  (It also happens to be the first problem I ever composed!)

E&W #17 Problem #129 2nd exchange revealed  
DDC Home E&W front page    

        Hugh Darwen, 2001

Date last modified: 11 March, 2017