Double Dummy Corner

 

Competition Problem 141a

composed by Steve Bloom and Barry Rigal
presented for solving in November 2016

DR6

♠ AKJ10654

 8

 AQ3

♣ Q9

♠ Q9732

 2

 J109

♣ KJ107

♠ none

 Q96543

 7654

♣ 865

♠ 8

AKJ107

 K82

♣ A432

(a) How is six no-trumps by South defeated?
How is the contract made if we swap (b) the ♣7 and ♣8, or (c) the
7 and 8?

Successful solvers: Ian Budden, Leigh Matheson, Radu Mihai, Sebastian Nowacki, A.V. Ramana Rao, Zoran Sibinović, Andries van der Vegt  Tables

Promotion: A.V. Ramana Rao becomes a Problemist with this result.

DDC Home Next problem Previous problem
  Next DR6 Previous DR6
Competition problem archive Next Bloom problem Previous Bloom problem
  Next Rigal problem Previous Rigal problem

Solution

(a)      West must lead the 9!  Declarer’s best try is to cash the A and come to hand on a heart finesse to play two more rounds of hearts, North discarding spades, followed by the K.  But West discards diamonds on the hearts and then the 10 on the K.  North drops the Q to give South an entry back to hand.  South now leads a low club but West inserts the J and will play the K under South’s A to avoid the threatened throw-in on the third round of clubs.  Note that East does not waste the 9 on the first round of hearts, as South must in any case overtake the 8.  Note also that if West rises with the K on the first round and exits on a club to the Q, South’s heart losers go on the top spades and the last three tricks are made by the 8, A and 4.

(b)     Declarer plays as in (a) but this time West can be thrown in on the third round of clubs.  North then gets a spade finesse and South has a diamond entry to the long club.  If West keeps four clubs and therefore discards a spade, North plays the 3 on South’s K and is entered on the Q to play three rounds of spades.  The forced club return gives declarer the last four tricks with, in some order, the Q, A, K, and J.

(c)     The play goes as in (a) up to trick seven, except that this time the first heart is won by South’s 8 when East plays low, making the J10 equals against the Q.  At trick eight, North leads the A in this position:

♠ AKJ106

 none

 3

♣ 9

♠ Q732

 none

 none

♣ K7

♠ none

 Q9

 76

♣ 86

♠ none

J10

 8

♣ A43

East discards a heart, South a club.  Now comes the K, on which South throws another club.  South comes to hand on the minor suit from which East has just discarded and sets up a heart trick with the top card in the other minor suit as entry.

Comments: In both (b) and (c) South can lead the 8 instead of the stipulated K.  North overtakes with the Q if West discards a spade.  In (b) North can optionally cash a top spade before crossing to South on the heart.

See the solution to Competition Problem #4 for the recommended tabular format if you prefer not to write in English prose.

DDC Home Next problem Previous problem
Competition problem archive Next Bloom problem Previous Bloom problem
  Next Rigal problem Previous Rigal problem

© Hugh Darwen, 2016
Date last modified: 13 March, 2017